Book Review: SIRENSONG by Jenna Black

Sirensong (Faeriewalker #3)
Author: Jenna Black
Publication Date: July 5, 2011
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Genre/Category: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy

Summary on Goodreads:
When Dana is invited to Faerie to be officially presented at the Seelie Court, it’s no easy decision. After all, everyone knows Titania, the Seelie Queen, wants her dead. But Titania claims not to be the one behind the death threats; and her son, Prince Henry, makes the decision a whole lot easier when he suggests Dana might be arrested for (supposedly) conspiring with her aunt Grace to usurp the Seelie throne. So she and her father better do as they’re told . . .
The journey through Faerie is long—and treacherous. Dana thought it would be a good idea to have friends along, but her sort-of-boyfriend, Ethan, and her bodyguard’s son, Keane, just can’t seem to get along, and Kimber’s crush on Keane isn’t making things any easier. When a violent attack separates Dana from their caravan, the sexy Erlking saves her just in the nick of time . . . and makes it clear that he hasn’t given up on making her his own.
Arriving at Titania’s beautiful palace should be a relief. But Dana is soon implicated in an assassination attempt against Titania’s granddaughter, and is suddenly a fugitive, forced to leave her father behind as she and her friends flee for their lives. Will she be able to prove her innocence before the forces of the Seelie Court—or, worse, the Erlking—catch up with her? And will she save her father before he pays the ultimate price in her stead?
My Thoughts:

 

Ever since I’ve read Glimmerglass and Shadowspell, I became so excited about Sirensong. I’ve waited so long for this book to come out, and it seems forever before I finally got my copy. So here’s my review: 
 
Glimmerglass and Shadowspell were both fascinating to me. I fell in love with the story and that made me very eager to read the final book. When I started reading Sirensong, I was immediately transported to Dana’s world, and easily catched up from where Shadowspell has left off. Since the two books revolved around Avalon, Sirensong took place mostly at faerie, which I find refreshing. I specifically enjoyed the part where Dana, her dad, her friends, along with Prince Henry and the whole entourage entered the border between Avalon and the Faerie world. The image was so vivid and I could imagine myself being transported to the world of faeries too.
 
The story focuses on Dana’s travel to the Seelie Court, and the book offers more surprises than the first two books. I felt the excitement of traveling through faerie and to finally meet the Seelie Queen. I was also thrilled when the author allows us to see more about the Erlking, and that made me like him more. He’s dangerous, smart, cunning and gorgeous too! I like the idea that someone as powerful as the Erlking, highly-feared by everyone, is protecting Dana. How many times did she saves her at the nick of time? But Dana on the other hand keeps on avoiding him, and hardly trusted him, which you’ll probably find annoying sometimes. That’s one of Dana’s problem—she has difficulty trusting people, even her dad, Ethan and her friends. But knowing her past and her relationship with her alcoholic mom, plus the experiences she had from the time she stepped into Avalon, I get to sympathize with her, and understand her. She maybe stubborn, but she is strong-willed, independent, persistent and smart. She’s determined to protect everyone she loves even if it means risking her life. She never had second thought saving their lives, and she never gives up even when the situation seems hopeless. I admit, I was impressed by such bravery. It was also fun to read more about Kimber, Keanne, and Ethan since they travelled together in the Faerie. There are lots of actions and suspense, and a few funny moments too. You’ll love the Green Lady and you’ll hate the Bogles. You’ll probably miss Finn, because you don’t get much of him in this book, and you’ll love Dana’s dad, because all the doubts will be sweft off once you get to know him better as Dana does.
 
I can say that I really enjoyed this last book of the Faeriewalker series, though I didn’t felt the same hype I had when I read Glimmerglass and Shadowspell. Though I love most of the things about it, there are a few things I find a bit itchy.
 
One of the reasons I was eager to read Sirensong is because I want to know what happens to Dana and Ethan’s love story. In Shadowspell, it seems that the story will focus on that aspect—Dana’s struggle with her agreement to the Erlking, and Ethan being tied to the Wild Hunt. I missed the love story, which is prominent on the first two books. I think the author left out the romantic flavor and focused on the characters dangerous travel to faerie instead. The travel was long and sometimes I wanna fast forward my reading and hoping that the characters would finally get where they were going. Sometimes it gets a little boring. Nonetheless, I think the author still made a justifiable conclusion to the series. I just wished for less explanations and more of Ethan and Dana’s love story. Other than that, I still think this book is really good. I still recommend it especially to those fans of Faerie Novels. I have to say that this is the only Faerie Novel series I truly enjoyed.
My Rating:
 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: SIRENSONG by Jenna Black

Leave a Reply

