Book Review: BLOOD RED ROAD by Moira Young

Blood Red Road (Dustlands #1)
Author: Moira Young
Publication DateJune 7, 2011
Publisher: Margaret K. Elderry
Genre/Category: Young Adult, Dystopian

Summary on Goodreads:

Saba has spent her whole life in Silverlake, a dried-up wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms. The Wrecker civilization has long been destroyed, leaving only landfills for Saba and her family to scavenge from. That’s fine by her, as long as her beloved twin brother Lugh is around. But when a monster sandstorm arrives, along with four cloaked horsemen, Saba’s world is shattered. Lugh is captured, and Saba embarks on an epic quest to get him back.
Suddenly thrown into the lawless, ugly reality of the world outside of desolate Silverlake, Saba is lost without Lugh to guide her. So perhaps the most surprising thing of all is what Saba learns about herself: she’s a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, and a cunning opponent. And she has the power to take down a corrupt society from the inside. Teamed up with a handsome daredevil named Jack and a gang of girl revolutionaries called the Free Hawks, Saba stages a showdown that will change the course of her own civilization.
Blood Red Road has a searing pace, a poetically minimal writing style, violent action, and an epic love story. Moira Young is one of the most promising and startling new voices in teen fiction.
My Thoughts:

There has been a lot said about this book and this might not be the only review you’ve ever read. I’m not sure if my opinion will be any different from the others, but I will try my best to express my thoughts as coherent as possible.

I finished this book this morning at 1:30 AM and I immediately told my friends about it. I can’t wait for them to know how I enjoyed this book. I guess it’s one way also for me to release a bit of my emotions. 
BLOOD RED ROAD is an emotional, engaging and heart gripping story about a girl’s journey to save her beloved brother—no matter what the cost she has to pay… even if there is only one bloody road to take. 
When I asked myself “What do I love about this book?”, well, I can’t really say. There are so many good things about it that until now I couldn’t seem to get more of it. 

LUGH GOT BORN FIRST. ON MIDWINTER DAY WHEN THE SUN hangs low in the sky.
Then me. Two hours later.
That pretty much says it all.
Lugh goes first, always first, an I follow on behind.
An that’s fine. That’s right. That’s how it’s meant to be.

The time I started reading that passage, I know I’m going to love this book. A few weeks back, I thought of the opposite, because some reviews say that it’s difficult to understand. It was a bit hard to read at first but it’s not hard to understand at all. Some words were intentionally spelled incorrectly and the way the characters speak may bother you in the beginning. But I think it’s one of the author’s way to let the readers experience the characters better and become fully aware of their situations. They didn’t learn how to write, neither they learn how to read. That’s how their world is. I’d say it’s quite effective and it offers us something to bear with the characters. 

If you seen me an Lugh together, you’d never think we was the same blood.
Never think we grew together in the same womb.
He’s got gold hair. I got black.
Blue eyes. Brown eyes.
Strong. Scrawny.
Beautiful. Ugly.
He’s my light.
I’m his shadow.
Lugh shines like the sun.
That must of made it easy fer them to find him.
All they had to do was follow his light. 

The characters play a huge part in the story and that’s why it is important to me that I like the characters especially the leading ones. There are moments that I hated Saba for being so hard to her sister, for being so stubborn and rude not only to Jack but to everyone who tries to help her (sometimes I wanna slap her face! if only I could). She keeps pushing them away and she’s trying so hard to keep other people out of her life. I hate her because she only thinks of her brother and nothing else, even for a fact that she still has Emmi, her 9 year old sister who needs her… and if only Saba could have a choice, she’d rather leave her behind. I felt too emotional when I think about her and their relationship. How can you hate your own blood that much? I hate her for those reasons…  But there are things I love about her too. She is a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, a cunning opponent. She doesn’t give up, and I don’t remember a single moment she lost hope. And it’s true when she said she’s not a quitter. She’s one of the smartest and strongest heroines I ever encountered. 

The Rule of Three: You save somebody’s life three times, their life is yours.

Jack, the handsome daredevil—nobody knows where he truly came from, and until now I am intruiged by the secrets he must’ve been hiding. I’m not sure if there’s any but the story doesn’t tell us much about him. I guess that’s another reason to wait for the next book. I bet you’ll love him as I do. I always looked forward to read about him and Saba. He kept me entertained especially during the times when Saba is a little too hard to bear. He makes her lighten up a bit and he makes her feel calmer. He’s strong and smart and funny too. There’s so much more about him that meets the eye, and I hope to find out on the next book. I love Jack, that’s it. 


If you ever need me… we’ll come. Wherever, whenever… you send this ring an we’ll be there.

Friends don’t owe, she says. Friends don’t repay.

One thing more I love about this book—FRIENDS. You can never have too many friends especially during the times of your biggest needs. I love them all: Emmi-her sister, Jack, Maev, Epona, Ash, Tommo, Ike and even Lugh. That makes the story even more exciting and intense. I hope you find time to know more about these awesome characters. Oh, I almost forgot Nero, he’s Saba’s intelligent crow! I’m sure you’ll be pleased to meet them. 
As much as I want to say more about this book, I know I should stop before I give you more teasers which might spoil your future reading. I hope you’ll enjoy this book as much as I did. I never thought that I would love this book so much. I recommend you read them thoroughly and don’t miss a thing. I never had any boring moment when I read this—it’s a sad, beautiful story, intense and highly captivating! It’s like reading The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner combined. And if the Hunger Games has the Girl on Fire, Blood Red Road has an Angel of Death.

Moira Young has written a story so beautiful and emotional, it made my chest rise and my heart melt at the same time. A must read and I highly recommend it.

My Rating:

5 thoughts on “Book Review: BLOOD RED ROAD by Moira Young

  1. I've been unsure about giving this book a try for a while, but after reading your review I'm definitely going to read it. It sounds so intriguing, as do the characters! Love the review 😀

    Like

  2. Oh I totally adore this book! I get so happy when I see other raving reviews. The writing wasn't hard to get into at all… I mean, it's a bit jarring at first, but it only takes a few lines and you get immersed into the story again. I feel like the whole thing wouldn't have been as strong without the language and the way it was written.

    Like

  3. This book sounds very intriguing. I had no idea about the ways in which speech is portrayed in this book, and I'm now even more interested. Thank you for the review. I've bumped it up on my list of books to buy and read. 🙂 I'm now following your blog and look forward to more of your reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

