Book Review: Skid Out by Ann Frohoff

SKID OUT
(A Novella Prequel to the Heavy Influence Trilogy)
Author: Ann Frohoff
Publication Date: September 12, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
Genre/Category: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance

Summary on Goodreads:

A novella prequel to the Heavy Influence Trilogy about young, reckless love between a rising rock star and his younger muse. Follow their journey through temptation, deception & forbidden love.
17 year old high school senior, Jake Masters, front man of a rising rock band, finds new interest in his younger freshman next door neighbor Alyssa Montgomery. Their relationship breaks hearts; stirs jealousy and band infighting. When they’re brought to new found awareness of body and soul, will rightful boundaries be crossed? Will the right decisions and choices, which are detrimental to the band and its future, be made through the haze of infatuation? Will Jake’s absences on the road lead to another filling his shoes? Jake and Alyssa’s lifelong friendships are strained and tested; secrets are kept, admitted and shared. Family bonds are broken, as others grow stronger. Who knew a first love could cause so many problems? Then again, in their eyes, there are no problems as long as they’re together. In the end, will his new found muse bring down everything he’s worked so hard to achieve or will she inspire positive creative change; that will carry him and his band to stardom.
My Thoughts:

This novella has only 56 pages–short but really good! I didn’t know what to expect when I agreed to read it but I’m glad I did. I just knew that it would be a short read, but I never thought that I would enjoyed it so much.

The story gives us a glimpse of both Jake and Alyssa’s life. What it was like for Jake to be the front man of a rising rock band as he’d come to realize that his feelings for his younger neighbor Alyssa is something he could no longer ignore. Then he began to make decisions that soon will affect everything he worked so hard to achieve.
If you happen to have doubt about this book, I’d say give it a try. You most likely end up enjoying it. I easily loved the main characters, they’re true to their feelings and that made them very likable. Seeing the story in both Jake and Alyssa’s POV made me understand them well enough, and I was glad to see how their feelings for each other started to flourish. I was even more thrilled to see Jake’s written composition in the last part of the novella–the lyrics and the music fits the story perfectly, and the original mp3 music (which I listened to the nth time after reading the book) makes the story seem even more intense and real. It still gives me chill whenever I listen to it. I can’t wait to see what will happen next and I’m sure to be one of those fans who will eagerly anticipate for the next book.
With the flavor combination of rock music and the sweet but sometimes bitter taste of teen romance, I’m sure lots of readers will enjoy this series. I’m direly waiting for the next book to come out!

 
My Rating:
If you want to buy a Kindle copy of the novella, you may just click the link below:
*Included in the purchase price, this novella comes with an original song as printed on the pages of the book. To receive your Mp3 download of “Transpose” by Bad Suns, please email your order receipt number to: heavyinfluencetrilogy@gmail.com and it will be promptly sent!

 

Thanks to Author Ann Frohoff for the copy of the book and for the beautiful song that came along. You rock!

Leave a Reply

