Book Review: THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER by Michelle Hodkin

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1)
Author: Michelle Hodkin
Published Date: September 27, 2011
Published By: Simon & Schuster
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal

Summary from Goodreads:Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.
She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.
She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

My Thoughts:

I gave this book a rating of 5/5 (in a hearty cups) because I loved this book and I enjoyed it despite of its flaws. This book is one of my favorite read this year and with a beautiful and hot guy Noah, you can’t just resist loving it!

The story began with the mysterious letter from Mara. Mara Dyer is not her real name, and the author gave us no hint of what her real name was. It remains a mystery to me even after I finished the book. Mara doesn’t remember what happened that night of the accident. There are more strange things surrounding her life now plus the fact that she keeps having nightmares and hallucinations. She wants to know what really happened to her but no one prepares her for the devastating truth about herself and about Noah–who has also been through a tragedy and seems like keeping lots of problems too. 

Mara Dyer’s character is a mysterious one, even the power she have or might not have is a bit complicated and confusing. She’s a little irritating but not something that lessen my enjoyment. She’s a kick-ass too, and for me, she’s a strong heroine. She may have lots of things going on around her but I understand her feelings. She’s fun to read about but most of the times, she’s a bit scary. Her hallucinations and nightmares are creepy and it gave me goosebumps. Noah Shaw, on the other hand is nothing but pure hotness and awesomeness. You’ll be drooling for this guy… his witty remarks made my reading a lot more enjoyable and I find myself giggling many times through out the book.

“You have an anger-management problem.”

Oh, I loved him from the very first moment he spoke! He’s British. Hot. Beautiful. Rich. Dark. And an asscrown (?!). (If you wonder what an asscrown means? Read this book. Kidding! Asscrown–as per Mara’s definition is: The crown on top of the asshat that covers the asshole of the assclown. The very zenith in the hierarchy of asses.) Get the picture?
I narrowed my eyes at him. “You’re evil.”

In response, Noah smiled, and raised his finger to gently tap the tip of my nose. “And you’re mine,” he said, then walked away

I think, what makes this book good is that the characters are intriguing and at the same time very fun to read about. The characters are well-developed even the supporting ones. I like Mara’s smart, dependable and ever-supportive big brother Daniel. He’s someone you’ll want to have as a brother. Joseph, his younger sibling is adorable too! Mara is really lucky to have those both boys by her side. Jamie, Mara’s first and only friend at Croyden is funny and every moment with him and Mara is full of humorous remarks that will make your mouth hurt for grinning too much! I just hope there’s plenty of those moments!This book is full of eerie moments too! The dark atmosphere and the spooky mysteries will give you goosebumps that will make it hard for you to read during the night even when your lights are on. But the story is so engrossing and the twists are so captivating, you will find yourself continuously flipping the pages even way past your bed time. You’ll never run out of questions and you’ll just keep on guessing until the very last page. The ending is not what I expected though, it’s good but it doesn’t give me the answers I’m looking for. And now I am so desperate for the next book. My curiosity about this book is tremendously huge and I had a handful of questions before I even started it, and I have to admit that it gives me even more questions and I was left hanging and confused in the end. There are mysteries that remained unsolved, and the story itself is a bit confusing at times. But it doesn’t lessen my enjoyment. It just makes me want to have the next book now, and see what will happen next. It’s creepy but deliciously addicting! The story is very promising and it is without a doubt a great start to a beautiful, compelling series.

My Rating:

4 thoughts on “Book Review: THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER by Michelle Hodkin

  1. Great review! I agree with basically everything, lol. I just finished it yesterday and boy was it good! I couldn't believe it ended like that. o: I need more! More, more, more. And Noah… *sigh* I absolutely loved this book!

    Like

  2. My Dear! Im so glad you liked it!! I love this book with insanity! love it love it love it!! Excellent review my dear! muah!
    btw, I change my blog template, could you tell me if it looks odd? do you like it? So far my mom and sis like it but.. I dunno @_@ please let me know!

    Like

  3. I'm seeing this one EVERYWHERE. I really want to read it. Thank you for this review and my Friday evening giggles:

    “Oh, I loved him from the very first moment he spoke! He's British. Hot. Beautiful. Rich. Dark. And an asscrown (?!). (If you wonder what an asscrown means? Read this book. Kidding! Asscrown–as per Mara's definition is: The crown on top of the asshat that covers the asshole of the assclown. The very zenith in the hierarchy of asses.) Get the picture?”

    ^^^ hehehe XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

