Book Review: NIGHTSHADE by Andrea Cremer

Nightshade (Nightshade #1)

Author: Andrea Cremer
Published Date: October 19, 2010
Published By: Philomel
Genre: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy

Summary from Goodreads:

Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she’ll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters’ laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything- including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

My Thoughts:


I really don’t understand why I couldn’t get myself to love this book as much as I want to. I started reading it months ago just after it was released but I got bored and dropped it. I’m glad that I was able to finished it now. Everyone seems to like this book and I wish I could say the same thing. But even if this book didn’t live up to my expectations, I still enjoyed it and I’m now looking forward to read Wolfsbane.
There are wolves and witches in Nightshade and it’s a totally different twist. I am impressed by how the author pulled their story together to create a beautiful setting and a promising plot. Calla, the alpha female of the Nightshade pack is destined to marry Ren, the alpha-male of the Wolfsbane. Together, they will lead their new pack in protecting the Keepers–the witches who provide for them in exchange of their loyalties to protect them and their interests from the Searchers–another set of witches whom we provided little information yet. But after saving Shay Doran, who happens to be someone of at most importance, Calla was torn between her loyalty to Ren and her growing love for Shay.
The first few chapters were a bit hard to get into, but it suddenly became interesting when I reach the second half of the book. Calla is a kick-ass heroine, but she’s not easy to love. She’s strong but she is sometimes immature. It’s hard to understand her feelings and her actions are sometimes confusing. She’s in love with Shay but she feels something for Ren, too. She wants to be touched by Shay (all the time), but she have weird thoughts too when Ren touches her. It’s irritating and annoying. The secret behind Shay’s character is what kept me reading. It’s so intriguing even from the very beginning, and I am excited to know more about him in the next book. I know that I’m going to be Team Shay from the time I met him. There’s something more about his life, his character, than being this not-so-strong human boy. The secrets surrounding his life and the world of the guardians against the keepers are interesting enough for me to want the next book. 
If you enjoy reading a story that revolves around lies and deception, loyalty and sacrifice, blended with forbidden romance, I’d say go for this book. I still recommend it, but you need to be patient when you can’t get into the story immediately like I was. The start may be slow, but when you read and dig deeper, the story eventually gets better. 
My Rating:

5 thoughts on “Book Review: NIGHTSHADE by Andrea Cremer

  1. I think you did a really good review for a book you weren't wild about. I did really like Nightshade but I was less excited with Wolfsbane. It was slower for me but I still liked it and will read book #3.

    Like

  2. Calla as a not likeable heroine kind of pulls me back from this one… I'm still in my “learning to like werewolves” stage, so getting into a book where I'll want to slap the heroine around and keep the boy for myself, instead of wishing for their happy ending, might not be in my best interests!

    Thank you so much for the great review!

    Ron @ Stories of my life

    Like

Leave a Reply

