Book Review: ADDISON BLAKELY: CONFESSIONS OF A PK by Betsy St. Amant

Addison Blakely: Confessions of A PK
Author: Betsy St. Amant
Published Date: January 1, 2012
Published By: Barbour Publishing, Inc.
Genre: Young Adult, Family, Religious/Inspirational

Summary from Goodreads:


Sixteen-year-old Addison Blakely has tireless played the role of PK—preacher’s kid—her entire life. But after Wes Keegan revs his motorcycle into town and into her heart, Addison begins to wonder how much of her faith is her own and how much has been handed to her. She isn’t so sure she wants to be the good girl anymore. Join Addison Blakely as she attempts to separate love from lust, facts from faith, and keep her head above water in her murky, fishbowl existence.

Thank you to lovely Author Betsy St. Amant and NetGalley for the e-arc of this book.
My Thoughts:

How does it feels like to be preacher’s’s kid? I basically grew up in a Christian environment and it’s true that when you’re a Christian, people expect you to be nicer and better and they tend to notice all the negative things about your life that doesn’t fit in the word “good” and “proper”. This book gave me a glimpse of what it’s like for a Pastor’s kid, living in what she calls life in a fishbowl.


“I didn’t ask to be a PK. I didn’t ask for a life that meant living like a teenage saint. I didn’t ask for any of it, yet it was asked of me everyday.”

It has always been Addison and his Pastor Dad since her mom died when she was little. She lives in their home doing her homework after school, sitting in the third pew at the church every Sunday, trying to live a life that is expected of her… everyday. She was never late for school, never missed one assignment, and always a perfect A student.

But then there is Wes Keegan–tattooed–his motorcycle and black leather jacket perfectly match his bad boy image. Addison is magnetically drawn to him, and she can’t figure out why. Her life that revolves around her father, the church, and God is now suddenly turning vague… she’s confused and her life is more complicated than ever. Everything in her life add up to her dilemma–God. Her dad. Her English teacher, Ms. Hawthorne. Her ex-bestfriend Claire. Luke. Wes and his Lemon Drop Girlfriend. Everything seems to be out of control. She started to think about her faith and questioned her relationship with God. The only thing that Addison wants now is to escape the rules and for once, be able to experience the joy of being outside the fishbowl. She tried to be a lemon drop.

“Forget the rules. Forget black and white. I wanted to hug gray. I wanted to ride the line between responsibility and fun and not worry about falling off the wrong side. “

“
I stared at my reflection in the bathroom mirror and tried to look assured. Confident. Independent. Sour. You. Are. A. Lemon. Drop. But my pink polka-dotted pj top pretty much said the opposite. I rested my forehead against the mirror with a groan. Who was I kidding? I was a gummi bear through and through…”

The story is good and what I really liked about it is the truth it implies about the importance of a person’s relationship with God above everything else. I appreciate how the author wrote a well-written story about a person’s journey in discovering what she really wants and what her relationship with God is all about without getting preachy. Addison’s confessions are honest, they made me laugh and mad at the same time. Sometimes she’s difficult to understand and it feels like she’s exaggerating, but then I tried put myself in her shoes and I wonder what it is like to be Addison. I’m not a preacher’s kid and maybe I won’t ever understand what its like to be one. But I’m sure that each of us can somehow relate to Addison’s struggles with her feelings toward Wes and the difficult task of choosing what’s right from what’s wrong.

Over all, this book is good and I enjoyed reading Addison’s story except for some slow and dragging parts. Addison’s life is simple yet complicated, funny and ironic too. You’ll sympathize with her, laugh with her, and even get mad at her sometimes. But she’s nice and sweet as Gummi Bear too. You’ll like Wes even though he’s too hard to figure out. There’s something about him that will make you doubt him and care for him at the same time. This book made me a little crazy but in a good way, and I started asking myself “Am I a gummi bear or a lemon drop candy?” Maybe I’m a gummi bear… Hey, gummi bears are yummy!

My Rating:

3 thoughts on “Book Review: ADDISON BLAKELY: CONFESSIONS OF A PK by Betsy St. Amant

  1. Oh! You finished this one!

    I think you hit the spot when you said that the book wasn't preachy. That's the major fault most authors have when trying to convey something meaningful and truly important, so the fact that this time it works it excellent praise!

    I live in a mostly-catholic country, so there's no PK's in my zone, and quite frankly, religion is not really taken into account when drawing up one's expectations of another person: that's because, until it's proven otherwise, everyone assumes that you're catholic (more or less of an active one, admittedly, but you get my drift) Because of this situation, Confessions shapes up like such an interesting read!

    Thanks for your review,

    Ron @ Stories of my life

    Like

  2. This sounds really interesting and it's got me curious simply because I was and am still, even though I no longer live at home, a PK. I think especially for a teenager it can be difficlt. Living with everyone's expectations, trying to fit into a particular mold when you aren't even sure who you are yet. It's difficult and I'd be interested in reading about Addison's journey. Great review 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

