Book Review: TEN THINGS WE DID (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski

Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have)
Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Published Date: June 7th 2011
Published By: Harper Teen
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Summary from Goodreads:
 
2 girls + 3 guys + 1 house – parents = 10 things April and her friends did that they (definitely, maybe, probably) shouldn’t have.If given the opportunity, what sixteen-year-old wouldn’t jump at the chance to move in with a friend and live parent-free? Although maybe “opportunity” isn’t the right word, since April had to tell her dad a tiny little untruth to make it happen (see #1: “Lied to Our Parents”). But she and her housemate Vi are totally responsible and able to take care of themselves. How they ended up “Skipping School” (#3), “Throwing a Crazy Party” (#8), “Buying a Hot Tub” (#4), and, um, “Harboring a Fugitive” (#7) at all is kind of a mystery to them.

In this hilarious and bittersweet tale, Sarah Mlynowski mines the heart and mind of a girl on her own for the first time. To get through the year, April will have to juggle a love triangle, learn to do her own laundry, and accept that her carefully constructed world just might be falling apart . . . one thing-she-shouldn’t-have-done at a time.
My Thoughts:

Thump! Thump! Thump!

Hear that? That’s my heart! Because I’m so excited (and nervous) to write my review about this book. Simply amazing.  It exceeded my high expectations and I’m glad, really glad that I have my copy of this book. And look at that cover! Sweet! Do you wonder who that boy is? Noah or Hudson? Every time I think about this book, my heart flutters and my mouth grins. I didn’t just enjoyed it, I love love it! If you wanna know why, here are the reasons:
 
Ten Things I Love (and probably never forget) about this book:
#1 Hilarious.
#2 Secrets and twists.
#3 Hot-tub named Hula.
#4 Donut.
#5 Con-domes?!
#6 2 girls+2 more, 3 guys+some more and house parties!
#7 April (Why wouldn’t I be thrilled?!)
#8 Noah. Those dimples.
#9 Brothers Dean & Hudson. Especially Hudson. Hot. Those cheekbones. Jeez. And blue-eyes. Wow.
#10 And then there’s Lightning.

I started this book hoping to get a nice break from reading too much paranormal and dystopian novels. You know, when you’ve been so busy kicking some monsters’ asses or whacking villains’ heads for days, you’ll gonna need some light-hearted and easy read–something that will make you laugh and relax at the same time. Well, this book is just purr-fect! 
It all started with a lie. When her father and her stepmom broke the news that they will move to Clevelend, panic strikes and April suddenly feel the urge to device a plan that will make her stay in Westport. So here comes Vi, to the rescue! And then the lying began.Number one: Lied to our parents. Convince them that you’ll stay in your friend’s house with her mom and you’ll be good. Shhh… Don’t forget to create two fake emails for each parent!

So that was it? Keep up my grades, no drinking, no boys, and my curfew? Doable. Or at least fakeable.

In a beach house–without their parents, no supervision, no rules, April and Vi will have the blast of a life time. They skipped school, they threw house parties, and they bought a pink hot-tub named Hula. There are boys. Two boys. I mean three! And a lot more during house parties. But Noah was not as happy at the idea as April was. They’ve been together for two years and things began to shake when April moved in with Vi. Noah–her sweet and adorable Noah. Their relationship was good, is good, and they seemed to be the perfect couple. And what April wants now, is to have sex with him. Because she’s ready. She think she was. But is he ready? And then there’s Hudson–sweet and thoughtful. Hot. Blue-eyed. Fantastic cheekbones… and dark secrets? Hmm…

This book is light-hearted, very easy to connect with, plus the setting is beautiful and realistic. It is a great read for the winter season or for the summer, but for all season nonetheless. It has everything I need for a crazy and enjoyable read. There was no dull moments, and I loved every part of the story–from the witty conversations to the heartbreaking confrontations… The characters are amazing. They’re young, funny, flawed and so very real. April and her friends  were so fun to read about. No wonder my jaw ached because of too much grinning and my heart flutters with a lot of giggling. I can’t count the times I laughed out loud because of this book.

“That is not from Victoria’s Secret,” I said. “That’s from Victoria’s Sluts.”

I really liked April. She’s a good girl but she’s not perfect. She has bad sides too, and that makes her so realistic. The issues in her life are no different to ours. Anybody can relate to her and her friends. All of them have issues of their own and we get to see how they went through the process of discovering themselves…

I liked Vi and Dean. Especially when they’re together. They’re the crazy but perfect-for-each-other couple. Noah and Hudson are swoon-worthy. Or maybe just Hudson. Anyway, it would be too hard to describe the two boys without giving too much… I don’t want to spoil your future reading, so it’s better to figure it out on your own. Things are not always what they seem, and so are people. There were twists and secrets that might surprise you in the end. Just one thing, I like Noah and I love Hudson. Everything about Hudson is just…too sweet.This book isn’t all about sex, unruly parties, or things that maybe or probably teenagers shouldn’t do. It’s also about discovering yourself, what you want, who you want, and learning to accept the people in your life for who they are. It’s about accepting the things you can’t change, and moving on when things got awfully screwed. It says: treasure your family and cherish your friends. I said it once and I will say it again: I love this book.

But we all did the best we could. I guessed you had to forgive when you could, move on when you couldn’t, and love your family and friends for who they were instead of punishing them for who they weren’t.

And my favorite part:

His hand cupped my cheek and he leaned toward me. As our lips touched, my whole body sizzled. 
It was lightning.

My Rating:

4 thoughts on “Book Review: TEN THINGS WE DID (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski

  1. I am with Lis! I thought I wanted to read this book before…but after your review I REALLY want this book. (April, love your use of the word asses! Cracked me up) YOU GO GIRL!

    Like

  2. aah my dear! I read mixed reviews about this book but yours totally bought me! I need to read it soon!! I also need a break from all the dystopian and paranormal books. Though I love them, I haven read a contemporary in a while. Wonderful review my dear! Im glad this is not all about sex, the title can be misunderstood XDD (or is it my dirty head?) ANyways! thnx for sharing my dear!!! =D
    muah!

    Like

  3. Love it! The book sounded funny, and the cover was sweet – I think the guy in there is terribly cute, no mather if it's Noah or Hudson! I guess I should get to reading it now… After, I was curious, but those quotes were just the icing on the cake. A romance without vampires or demons or zombies might be just the thing to read now…

    Thanks for the review!

    Ron C. Nieto

    Like

Leave a Reply

