Book Review: HALF-BLOOD by Jennifer Armentrout

Half-Blood (Covenant #1)
Author: Jennifer Armentrout
Published Date: October 18th 2011
Published By: Spencer Hill Press
Genre: Young Adult, Mythology

Summary from Goodreads:

“Could you kill the one you love?”
Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi—pure-bloods—have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals—well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.
Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:
Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.
Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of sucks.
My Thoughts:

This book was recommended to me by my friend (Angela of Reading Angel) and since I trust trust trust her opinions about books, I became so excited to read it. Fortunately (have I told I am so lucky lucky?) I won the book in one of her giveaway. Told you I’m lucky! =)

I first read Daimon (Prequel Novella to Half-Blood) which I downloaded HERE for free (and you should get it too). I loved the book and finished it in one sitting! You can read my review, just click HERE.

Half-Blood immediately picked up where Daimon left off–Alex, running from the Daimons who are hunting her after she escaped from home and left her mother’s lifeless body. While fighting the Daimons, she was found by the Sentinels (Covenant warriors who hunt and kill Daimons), one of them is Alex’s long-time crush, a Pure and swoon-worthy–Aiden St. Delphi.
I don’t want to lessen the excitement by giving away too much but I’d say that it has everything you’ll want in a book. There’s mystery, action, and romance. It has funny moments too that made it more entertaining. I’m sure that those of you who have read The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead will notice some similarities when you read this book. It actually reminds me of VA, and though I know it’s not fair to compare the two books, I guess it’s fair enough to state the similarities for the sake of my honest review.

Alex and Rose are very much alike in so many ways. They’re both kick-ass, stubborn, snarky, and cannot be contained. They act before they think, and that usually get them into trouble. They will do anything and everything to protect the one they love. Aiden St. Delphi is like Dimitri Belikov. Both are drop-dead gorgeous, hot and drooling… and they’re the girls’ mentors too. Rose has Mason, Alex has Caleb, and nemesis are ever present: Lea and Mia–both are bitches. When I think about the Pure, Half-Blood and Daimon, I remember the Moroi, Dhampir and Strigoi.

You might think that those similarities might lessen your enjoyment, but it wasn’t the case for me. There are so much more in the story which you’ll be excited to read about. It’s so entertaining and very hard to put down. I enjoyed every minute of it, from the beginning up to the last page. There is no dull moment, only exciting ones. There is no cliff-hanger ending but it ended in such a way that you’ll want and need the next book. With nothing to hate but so much to love and enjoy, you’ll definitely don’t want to miss it. It’s one of the best book out there that I won’t ever hesitate to recommend. You must read it!

Unforgettable lines:

The grin increased to a full smile. And… oh, man. He had dimples. The air in my lungs died. – Alex

I glanced down at the dumbbell and pictured it flying across the room—at his face. But it was such a nice face, and I’d hate to ruin it. – Alex

Who wouldn’t want Aiden St. Delphi? You tell me.

And my favorite:

“I knew you were going to do something incredibly stupid. That’s why I couldn’t sleep at all. I sat by my damn window and waited. Low and behold, I see your crazy ass sneaking across the quad!” – Caleb

I so love Caleb. Bestfriends rocks 😉

My Rating:


>> Download and read Daimon by Jennifer Armentrout.
7 thoughts on “Book Review: HALF-BLOOD by Jennifer Armentrout

  1. Looking good!

    I was worried about the Hematoi concept here, because godlings are complicated in the supernatural world, and I've seen the “child of god and mortal” once too often, I guess. But from your review, that part is not half as important as the action and standard teen angst and romance… And who doesn't love that?!?

    Yep, my favorite genre all along.

    I think I'm going to add this one to my TBR pile. Thanks so much for the great review, April!

    Ron @ Stories of my life

    Like

  2. Great review. I think these books are going to be on my next TBR IC. LOL! I love the comparison between VA and this storyline. Sometimes it helps to know the kind of world you are getting into. I loved VA so I think it will all be good.

    ~Kristin

    Like

  3. Oh dear!! you I had this book in my to-read list since forever but never read a review about until now! thnkx so much! I dying to read it! I love that you compare it VA in a good way! I mean, c'mon, who doesnt like a hottie mentor? XDDhuhuhuhu!! Oh My Dimitri!!!! lol
    great review my dear =D I think Im moving this book up in my pile ^^ muah!!!

    Dazzling Reads

    Like

Leave a Reply

