Book Review: MY SOUL TO LOSE by Rachel Vincent

My Soul To Lose (Soul Screamers #0.5)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Publication Date: July 1st 2009
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Genre: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy/Paranormal

Summary on Goodreads:

It was supposed to be a fun day, shopping at the mall with her best friend. Then the panic attack started and Kaylee Cavanaugh finds herself screaming, unable to stop. Her secret fears are exposed and it’s the worst day of her life.

Until she wakes up in the psychiatric unit.

She tries to convince everyone she’s fine–despite the shadows she sees forming around another patient and the urge to scream which comes burbling up again and again. Everyone thinks she’s crazy. Everyone except Lydia, that is. Another patient with some special abilities….

My Thoughts:

My Soul To Lose is a good introduction to the first book in the Soul Screamers series. It’s not necessary that you read it before My Soul To Take, but I do recommended it. 
This book tells us the story of Kaylee and her life at the mental institution where she was admitted after a certain incident at the mall with her bestfriend Emma. I easily sympathized with her and I easily loved Emma for being a very supportive friend. I am curious with one character in this book though–Lydia. She’s mysterious and yet she seems to know Kaylee’s secret and she’s the only person in the institute who can understand her. I’m curious about what happened to her after she helped Kaylee and it would be great to know more about her in the next books. Though it’s short and easy read, this book give us glimpse of Kaylee’s life before she knows the truth behind her  so called “panic attacks”. You’ll be able to understand her better and it will answer some of the questions you might have when you read the first book in the series. 
I hope you’ll take the time to read this novella. I can’t say anything more about it and I don’t want to give anything away that may spoil your future reading. It’s good and it’s enjoyable. I recommend it and I think it’s best to read it before you start My Soul To Take. Nevertheless, you can still start the series and read it afterwards. 🙂
My Rating:

2 thoughts on “Book Review: MY SOUL TO LOSE by Rachel Vincent

  1. Yay! Your review for My Soul to Lose! Mine's going up -checks calendar- the 7th, actually! And then My soul to Take on the 9th.

    I agree on the fact that Lydia needs to come back. We need to know what happens with her, who she is, how she knew… It feels like a hanging thread! I hope book 3 will offer answers, in some way, but the lack of mention in books 1 and 2 leave me a bit hopeless…

    Can't wait to see your thoughts on My Soul to Take now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

