Thursday Revisits (5): Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout

Thursday Revisits is a new meme hosted by Sam @ Books For All Seasons.
It’s a weekly feature of book discussions about the characters, scenes, and plot of the book we read. It’s featured every Thursday.

Hello! Welcome to Thursday Revisits! This is my 5th post and I am so happy that you drop by to see it. I hope you’ll enjoy my today’s post.

Now, meet Heather:
I know that it’s rare to find a friend (from across the sea) who is beautiful inside and out, that’s why I’m happy that I’ve met her. I’m excited to introduce to you one of my FBBFF Heather Townsend. She’s from Maine (uhm.. I haven’t been there), and we met at Facebook because we both love to read and we love TMI (no doubt, we both love Jace). She’s going to be a bride soon (yay!) and now she’s here to talk about one of our favorite topic in Facebook, and one of our favorite book: Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout. 

Half-Blood (Covenant #1)

Author: Jennifer Armentrout
Published Date: October 18th 2011
Published By: Spencer Hill Press
Genre: Young Adult, Mythology

Summary from Goodreads:


“Could you kill the one you love?”
Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi—pure-bloods—have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals—well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.
Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:
Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.
Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of sucks. Add to TBR.

1. How many times have you read Half-Blood?

Heather: 3

April: Once. Really? 3x? That’s a lot! Impressive.

Heather: Yeah I loved it so much I read it again immediately after, and then again after I read Pure!

2. Describe the book in one word.

Heather: Flabbergasting!

April: AWESOMENESS.

3. What was your first impression after you finished the book?

Heather: I loved it, It quickly became one of my favorite series. I couldn’t wait for the next book, I turned into a Author stalker and wanted more details about the rest of the series!

April: I was totally impressed and speechless. It’s one of the best book I’ve read last year. It’s gripping and very entertaining. The romance, action and humor blended with fantasy/paranormal stuff is just exhilarating and fun.

4. Describe your favorite heroine from Half-Blood.

Heather: Alex. She is so strong, quick witted, snarky, sarcastic and a bit irrational. She never shows weakness. She’s a bada**! lol

April: Alex. Because she’s a kick ass 😀

5. Aiden or Seth?

Heather: Aiden all the way!!! He’s fierce, protective, passionate, and lets not forget those muscles!


April: Aiden. I agree with Heather. All those characteristics make him swoon-worthy. Plus he’s hot and gorgeous.. and don’t forget those eyes… Heather and I agreed that we’ll gonna share. Right, Heather? lol.
Heather: Yes we can share, as long as we share Four too : )

April: Oh my Four! Of course we can always share! *grin*

6. Half-blood or Pure-blood?

Heather: Both! You can’t have one without the other!

April: If I’m Alex and I have the chance to choose, then I’ll choose to be Pure-Blood so I can be with Aiden without complications. Being a half-blood when you can’t be with the one you love is maddening. But since Alex is an _________ and for sure the author has her way to make them together, then Half-Blood is ok =) Hehe.

Heather: I have faith they’ll end up together! I kind of like the forbidden love aspect in this book, it adds to the chemistry between Alex and Aiden. But it would definitely make things a bit easier for them!

7. Is there any specific part of the book that is memorable to you?

Heather: I’d have to say right after she found out she’d be the next ____, and went to _____’s. Stupid Leon and his stupid timing…

April: Haha! I loved that part too! Who wouldn’t miss that? And yeah, Leon, really bad timing. Just seconds! He should’ve slowed down so Aiden and Alex can have their moment!

Heather: Right, so irritating!

8. What did you liked best in the story?

Heather: Hmm. I like the twist. Pures and Half bloods. I get sick of the typical Vampire, Werewolf, and Angel books. The writing is great, and theres also alot of humor ( my fiancee thought i was crazy with how many times i laughed out loud during this book)

April: I laughed a lot over this book too! 🙂 And I totally like the romantic flavor more than anything else. The “push and pull” kind of relationship between Aiden and Alex plus Seth getting into the picture. That’s so entertaining.

Heather: I agree April, sometimes the chemistry just isn’t there enough in some books for me. But she has very real connections with both Aiden and Seth.

9. Is there any part of the book that you want to change?

Heather: Leon’s timing. Haha ; )

April: Hahaha. It seems that you can’t forget that part. You hold a grudge against Leon, I can tell hehe. But I agree, he’s timing sucks. Big time.

Heather: Haha yup I do!

10. If you were Alex, what kind of special power would you like to possess?

Heather: Well, isn’t she going to have access to all elements? that sounds good to me, i get bored!

April: Invisibility. So I can sneak up to Aiden whenever I want to and slap Leah’s face-hard! I want to do those things without getting caught. Haha!

Heather: Thats a good one! And imagine Leah’s facial expression after she gets slapped or punched and there’s no one there! Priceless.

April: Hahaha! I think so, too. She’s so irritating.

11. If you meet Alex for the first time, what do you think you’ll say to her?

Heather: Your my hero? lol. Oh yes, and Team Aiden!

April: You’re pretty and definitely kick-ass, but I wish you’re generous enough to give Aiden to me.

12. Do you recommend the book?

Heather: Absolutely, I think its a must read!

April: Absolutely, too. Go buy and read it!

13. Ok, so what’s favorite flavor of ice cream? I’m just curious! =P

Heather: Lol that certainly was unexpected! Well I’ll first say that theres NO wrong flavor of ice cream. But I love vanilla with almonds and toffee bits, its delightful! Whats YOUR favorite flavor?

April: I like chocolate and cheese. But it has to be plain cheese (can have cheese bits) or chocolate with chocolate bits. No nuts. No almonds. No marshmallows. Just plain chocolate =) Yum.

Heather: Chocolate is amazing too! Can’t do the cheese tho, I’m lactose intolerant : (

April: Oh. Maybe there’s a lactose-free cheese flavored ice cream??? =D

Thank you so much Heather! I had fun doing this discussion with you. *HUGS*

Thank you everyone for dropping by! God bless…

13 thoughts on “Thursday Revisits (5): Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout

  1. Y'all made me laugh out loud! Leon does have the worst timing imaginable and it just continues to get worse. LOL.

    April, I've never heard of cheese ice cream but since I love cheese and love ice cream…I think I would love it.

    ~Kristin

    Like

  2. First off – you ladies are hilarious ! Yes, Leon has horrible timing and I love Aiden ! BUT y'all know me – I'm Team Seth alllllll the way !!!! The ice cream question threw me off haha..cheese flavored ice cream ?! Is It something like cheesecake flavored ?? Because I've never heard of cheese flavored ice cream ! Love u ladies !

    Like

  3. You guys were AWESOME!!!!! I love your revisit and I love Half-Blood. I think I have a grudge against Leon too! LOL! great job!

    I haven't heard of cheese ice cream either, but if it is ice cream it can't be bad!

    Like

  4. Hi Ladies! Thank you for dropping by. I'm shocked that you haven't tried CHEESE FLAVORED ICE CREAM. It's delicious and it's my favorite! I don't think it's something like cheesecake flavored either… hmm, I am surprised, really. I didn't know that you haven't heard of it. Well, now you know… hehehe. If you visit me here, I'll buy you all a cheese flavored ice cream =D

    Like

  5. <3 I love this so much!!! So glad I got you girls hooked on this series!! And please tell me cheese icecream is cheesecake??? Cause if not, that's Just gross. ;)

    Leon, King of Impeccable Timing indeed!!!

    Like

  6. Great post girls! Loved this book and cannot wait for the rest of the series! But I'm not totally onboard with Team Aiden quite yet. I'm leaning toward Team Seth myself. But we'll just have to wait and see. I'm fickle and can change my mind 🙂

    Like

  7. Oh my, I don't understand why I haven't read this book, though I have it. I will, I have to. I need to knoe the Leon part, I'm too curious!!
    Love this post girls, Your amazing!!

    Like

  8. Great post, as always! It was so fun! I think it's pretty clear now that we're all Aiden fans, uh? I might have to check out why now! And that timing scene! Your Revisits keep making me want to read the books you feature, April!

    For the record: I don't think I've ever seen cheese ice cream, but since I love all things cheese I'd probably order -and enjoy- it! 🙂

    Like

  9. Oops.. it means I'm not helping with your TBR pile *grinning*
    I hope there's an available cheese flavored ice cream in your town so you can try it… the girls won't believe me that it's delicious! *snip*

    hehe…

    Like

Leave a Reply

