Book Review: MY SOUL TO KEEP by Rachel Vincent

My Soul To Keep (Soul Screamers #3)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Publication Date: June 1st 2010
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Genre: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy/Paranormal


Summary | Add to TBR
Kaylee has one addiction: her very hot, very popular boyfriend, Nash. A banshee like Kaylee, Nash understands her like no one else. Nothing can come between them.Until something does.Demon breath. No, not the toothpaste-challenged kind. The Netherworld kind. The kind that reallycan kill you. Somehow the super-addictive substance has made its way to the human world. But how? Kaylee and Nash have to cut off the source and protect their friends—one of whom is already hooked.And so is someone else…

My Thoughts:

At first, I didn’t expect that I would be able to enjoy this book after reading My Soul To Save (book 2), which happened to be a bit of a let down for me. But honestly, I’d enjoyed this book better than book 2. Among the first three books, I’d say My Soul To Keep was the saddest. Because I saw how the relationship of Kaylee and Nash twist and turned into something unhealthy and probably the worst. It may not still be the best moment for Kaylee to shine, because honestly, she still get on my nerves from time to time. I have a feeling that I will still need to endure Kaylee’s need to save people even if it means risking her own life which usually end up risking her love ones too. If you will ask me, part of what happened to Nash was Kaylee’s fault after all. Though of course, Nash should have been careful and smart. I really felt devastated for him, for what he’s going through and for everything that happened between them and Kaylee. I still want them to be together but I know that I should start to learn how to let go of Nash. Soon. So I won’t end up broken hearted. Oh well, Nash… I thought you were smarter and stronger than that… *sigh… how will you ever make it all up to Kaylee, huh? 😥
The Netherworld seems to be all time present now and in the future books, so expect to see and experience more of the Netherworld–though I know that it’s a place we don’t want to experience at all. Avari, the demon of greed won’t stop hunting Kaylee until he gets her soul, and thus the story is becoming more and more complicated. 
I think this book was good… heartbreaking and devastating especially if you’re rooting for Nash like me. Thank goodness, there’s Tod and I’d say watch out. I can’t wait to see how their lives will be more tangled and complicated as the story unfolds. Oh my, Tod, will you come out of the shell now and enlighten me? I need to know what’s beneath those blue eyes… 
I can’t wait to read the rest of the books, and I tell you, if you haven’t read the Soul Screamers, I think you should consider getting a copy now. My Soul to Keep may not be the best book in the series, but I think this was a great turning point in the lives of the characters. I’m excited to see what will happen next. I need the next book now.

My Rating:
3 thoughts on “Book Review: MY SOUL TO KEEP by Rachel Vincent

  1. I'm halfway through this one now, April! I had such strong feelings about it that I had to post in Facebook to vent…*laughs*

    I agree on the fact that it's a turning point, but I'll hold my judgement until I've finished it. For the time being, I think Kaylee's about to walk into my “too stupid to live” category, and Nash has gone straight into “weak and coward”, so… Yeah. To be honest, I really want to finish the book and see what comes afterwards!

    Like

Leave a Reply

