Book Review: MY SOUL TO STEAL by Rachel Vincent


My Soul To Steal (Soul Screamers #4)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Publication Date: January 4th 2011
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Genre: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy/Paranormal

Summary | Add to TBR
Trying to work things out with Nash—her maybe boyfriend—is hard enough for Kaylee Cavanaugh. She can’t just pretend nothing happened. But “complicated” doesn’t even begin to describe their relationship when his ex-girlfriend transfers to their school, determined to take Nash back. 
See, Sabine isn’t just an ordinary girl. She’s a mara, the living personification of a nightmare. She can read people’s fears—and craft them into nightmares while her victims sleep. Feeding from human fear is how she survives. 
And Sabine isn’t above scaring Kaylee and the entire school to death to get whatever—and whoever—she wants.
My Thoughts:

My Soul To Keep was the saddest among the first four books of the Soul Screamers Series, but I’d say that My Soul To Steal was the hardest one to read. Not because I didn’t like it, in fact I loved this one much more than book 2 and 3. Hardest because it involves a lot of unhealthy emotions on my part. Well, there are good emotions, too, though. But mostly, this book drove me mad and curious and excited and well… a whole lot more.
After reading My Soul to Keep, I picked up this book immediately and man, this was a page-turner. Suddenly, I was engrossed in the story and I didn’t expect it to happen. I started this book at 11 pm right after I put down My Soul To Keep. I read until 2 am and slept. I didn’t want to put it down, but a girl needs to sleep. So the next morning, I picked it up again immediately and finish it that same morning. It was fast. I didn’t want it to end but I’m dying to read If I Die after the book swept me off the bed with all those emotions… 
Kaylee wasn’t just able to forgive and trust Nash again after what he had done to her. So while he let Nash recovers from his addiction to Demon’s Breath, she spends time with Tod. Nash is doing everything to get Kaylee back. But all his efforts seem to fail especially now that his ex-girlfriend transferred to their school and will do just everything to get Nash back. As Sabine pull him hard, Kaylee pull harder. She just can’t let Sabine have Nash in spite of her doubt that she will ever trust Nash again. And complications doesn’t end there. Because death and chaos are everywhere in school. And Kaylee suspects that Sabine–who is also a mara has something to do with it.
This book has lots of surprises and I enjoyed them very much. Even though I admit that this book made me crazy to the bones! I felt sad for Nash but he’s being such an ass. And Sabine. I. Just. Hate. Her. I don’t want her to have Nash, though right now, I admit that I am definitely rooting for Tod. (I know… I’m being selfish here). Oh. My. Tod. I need him to get Kaylee asap, make Nash overly jealous. I want to get rid of Sabine myself, but I just don’t know how to do that. Oh my, this book is driving me crazy! I can’t express myself without giving away too much, so I think you should just read the book to find out and see what I’m talking about. 
Without getting myself overly nonsense and too exaggerated, I need to end my review now. All I’m saying is this book was great. Much better than the last book, and definitely much exciting. It’s a page-turner, you won’t be able to put it down. This book surpassed the previous two books in the series, and I can’t wait to read If I Die. The series is getting more exciting and engaging… It was definitely worth reading. 

My Rating:
2 thoughts on “Book Review: MY SOUL TO STEAL by Rachel Vincent

  1. Complete agree! Book 3.5 was such a turning point in the series. For me, that's when things stopped making me want to bang my head on the wall and started making me want more!

    I honestly didn't dislike Sabine that much. Yes, she's a witch with capital B, but she's honest about her dirty playing -if that's even possible! I'd just hand Nash over to her if I was Kaylee (and then I'd grab Tod and hole up in my place till the end of time!)

    Wonderful review, April! I can't wait for you to read If I Die… It's even better than this one!

    Like

  2. Haha. A Witch with a capital B. I really get that! And I so agree. I'm surprised you didn't hate her. I HATE THAT Girl with a capital B! hehe.

    ANyway, I've finished IF I DIE just after I read My Soul to Steal last February I think. I just didn't post my review right away for the SS Challenge. And you're right! For me, If I Die is the best in the series so far. I can't wait to read As I Wake. I love Tod! But I still feel bad about Nash :< Poor Nash. Thank you for coming over Ron! ❤ I've missed you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

