Book Review: FALLING UNDER by Gwen Hayes

Falling Under (Falling Under #1)

Author: Gwen Hayes
Publication Date: March 1st 2011
Publisher: New American Library
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal Romance

Summary | Add to TBR

Theia Alderson has always led a sheltered life in the small California town of Serendipity Falls. But when a devastatingly handsome boy appears in the halls of her school, Theia knows she’s seen Haden before- not around town, but in her dreams.
As the Haden of both the night and the day beckons her closer one moment and pushes her away the next, the only thing Theia knows for sure is that the incredible pull she feels towards him is stronger than her fear.
And when she discovers what Haden truly is, Theia’s not sure if she wants to resist him, even if the cost is her soul.
My Thoughts:

If I only knew that I would enjoy this book this much, I would’ve read it sooner. Falling Under isn’t just another Twilight look-a-like book, though there are lots of similarities when it comes to the story and plot. But I guess that’s also another reason why I was so drawn to it. I’ve finished this book in less than two days. I couldn’t put it down. It swallowed me whole! I liked the setting–mysterious, eerie, dangerous and beautiful at the same time. I read it non-stop even while on the road, surprised that I made it home without throwing up on the car’s carpeted floor. Hubby must have realized how much I was glued to the book because he didn’t try to talk to me while he’s driving.

Empty of anything that defined as real.
That was how I felt sometimes. I existed in a world for show, not depth, not feeling.
And then along came Haden.

I loved Falling Under.

The pacing of the story is well-developed and it didn’t give me any opportunity to bore myself. I enjoyed every minute reading this book and since I’m a sucker for for good romance story, this book didn’t fail me at all. The minute I started reading the first page, I couldn’t stop. A story that started with a  burning man who fell from the sky… that’s intriguing. And as I continue to read, it held me… held me… until the last page. It’s so good and I couldn’t stop reading.

Why must everyone fall in order to love me? – Theia
The characters are likable, even Theia though she appeared to be weak and not-so-kickass kind of heroine. She’s rich, beautiful, raised to be a proper and decent woman by her overly protective father. She felt like she’s in a cage and I can almost feel her. She may not be one of the strongest heroine I know, but she learned to come out of her shell and fight for something that she wants, for once in her life. It’s nice to see how she matures by the end of the book, and I hope she’ll turn out to be a much stronger heroine in the next sequel. Haden, on the other hand, is so wickedly gorgeous, alluring, not to mention dangerous. The mystery that surrounds him made me so giddy to turn the page and see what’s beneath his dark personality. His own POVs didn’t lessen the intrigue but made the story even more enticing. Haden is a swoon-worthy kind of guy, you surely don’t want to miss him.
I didn’t recall loving her, but I loved her all the same. It wasn’t something I questioned anymore… My brain may not have remembered, but my heart did. – Haden
Each characters in the story are different but they all made the book entertaining to me. They are all unique in their own way that made them interesting and fun to read about. There are times that I didn’t liked Donny (Donnatella) or Ame (Amelia), and even Theia. But characters aren’t supposed to be perfect or badass or impressive to be strong and effective. They have to be believable. It’s refreshing to read about friends who will back you up no matter what, whatever the cost. And for once in while, it’s nice to read a book without having to deal with slutty, sexy blonds antagonists who usually gets on my nerve. Almost every book has them, and sometimes it’s irritating already. Though they still exist in this book, they aren’t big deal to concern about and I liked it. There is also enough humor and funny moments that made me grin and smile from time to time. And the guys spice up the atmosphere especially on those serious and difficult moments.

Fast and very enjoyable, this book is worth the read. The story is well blended with beautiful romance and nice variety of characters.Falling Under will capture the hearts of the readers who loves fantasy and paranormal romance. I can’t wait to read the next.

My Rating:

4 thoughts on “Book Review: FALLING UNDER by Gwen Hayes

  1. I loved Falling Under and I think it is okay when a heroine starts out weak and grows into something stronger. If a heroine starts out too strong, she has no where to expand too. Nothing left to aspire or develop into. So Theia was just fine in my heroine book. LOL.

    Great review!!!

    Like

  2. hehe! I'm so glad you liked this one! Now, for the second book… I've not read it yet, but I'm super curious to know where the story is going! Theia changed and grew a lot, and so did Haden. Where will the story get them now, I wonder…

    Thanks for the review!

    Like

  3. Thank you girls for coming over. I really enjoyed this book and I'm currently reading the second one. It's not that gripping as the first, but I'm only in the first few chapters so I can't tell yet… I hope it's as good as Falling Under 🙂 XOXOXOXO!

    Like

Leave a Reply

