Book Review: DARK FROST by Jennifer Estep

Dark Frost (Mythos Academy #3)
Author: Jennifer Estep
Published: May 29th 2012
Publisher: Kensington
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Summary | Add to TBR

I’ve seen so many freaky things since I started attending Mythos Academy last fall. I know I’m supposed to be a fearless warrior, but most of the time, I feel like I’m just waiting for the next Bad, Bad Thing to happen. Like someone trying to kill me—again.
Everyone at Mythos Academy knows me as Gwen Frost, the Gypsy girl who uses her psychometry magic to find lost objects—and who just may be dating Logan Quinn, the hottest guy in school. But I’m also the girl the Reapers of Chaos want dead in the worst way. The Reapers are the baddest of the bad, the people who murdered my mom. So why do they have it in for me?

It turns out my mom hid a powerful artifact called the Helheim Dagger before she died. Now, the Reapers will do anything to get it back. They think I know where the dagger is hidden, but this is one thing I can’t use my magic to find. All I do know is that the Reapers are coming for me—and I’m in for the fight of my life.

My Thoughts:

This series is one of those that aren’t in my top favorites, but it’s one of those that I am anxiously waiting for. I’m not sure what captures me the most about this book–maybe the on and off romance of the lead characters that is so frustrating and exciting at the same time–or maybe just the story and the fantasy flavor. But one thing I’m sure of, I will continue to read this series.
I liked the first two books, especially the last, “Kiss of Frost”. Since I am a sucker for good and sweet romance, I enjoyed this book a lot. I think it’s the best of the three books. I was actually expecting more from “Dark Frost”, but I got bit disappointed. I skipped reading most of the parts, because of too much repetition. Seriously, I’ve been reminded too much of the things I already know. I think that if you remove all the unnecessary explanations, you could wrapped up the entire story in just half of the book. It’s frustrating. If you’ve read the first two books, you’ll understand what I’m talking about. I also hope that Gwen learned to be more perceptive to the people and her surroundings. The Helheim Dagger which she was looking for was obviously been there, and it took her a while before she realized it. I hope she was more creative in her ways than just researching for the written words all the time. Gwen has improved from the first book up to this, but I hope that she’ll be more kick-ass next time and learned how to appreciate herself and her powers.

Overall, the story is good. I enjoyed it though there were some downfall for me. I really liked Kiss of Frost the most, and I hope the next book will be even better than the rest of first books in the series. I guess I’m one of the VERY FEW who didn’t liked it much, so better read more reviews before deciding to read it or not. People loved this book more than the first two so I think it’s worth giving a shot.

My Rating:

One thought on “Book Review: DARK FROST by Jennifer Estep

Leave a Reply

