Book Review: LEGEND by Marie Lu

Legend (Legend #1)
Author: Marie Lu
Published: November 29th 2012
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian

Summary | Add to TBR

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.
From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.
Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.

My Thoughts:

 

I didn’t expect to love this book as much as I do now. I’m not a fast reader and with lots of house chores to do, reading has been scarce lately. But Legend is unputdownable. I was rooted in my bed from the first time I open the book up to the end. It was really good.

I take a closer look at Kaede’s new opponent…
For a second it seems like the crowd’s attention has made her uncomfortable and I’m ready to dismiss her as a real contender until I study her again. No, this girl is nothing like the last one. She’s hesitating not because she’s afraid to fight, or because she fears losing, but because she’s thinking. Calculating. She has a dark hair tied back in a high ponytail and a lean, athletic build. She stands deliberately, with a hand resting on her hip, as if nothing in the world can catch her off guard. I find myself pausing to admire her face.

For a brief moment, I’m lost to my surroundings…

…the instant the new girl steps into the circle and I see her stance…I know I’ve made a big mistake. Kaede strikes like a bull, a battering ram.
This girl strikes like a viper. -Day

June is the golden prodigy of the Republic. She got the best of genes and is destined for a bright future. She’s the only person who got the perfect score in the Trial, and she’s been recognized at such a young age, making her the youngest yet the best soldier in the military. Until her brother, Captain Metias died and Day became the suspect. Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. And June will do everything to hunt him down and avenge her brother’s death.I think that June and Day are two of the smartest, fastest, strongest, and most brilliant characters I’ve ever met. And they are probably the most perceptive, intuitive of all. When something arise, they easily figure it out. Most importantly, they can immediately figure out each other. I hope that it will continue up to the next book. They somehow remind me of Tris and Four of Divergent. Brilliant and totally kick-ass. And behind those tough personalities are good hearts. These characters are driven by their fears and heartaches in the past. They were crashed but they remain whole in a world where survival is vital and only possible for the fittest. I loved those characters that exudes such great personalities. I want to see them in the big screen. This book deserves it!

Then there’s a voice telling me to get up. When I look to my side, I see a boy holding out his hand to me. He has bright blue eyes, dirt on his face, and a beat-up old cap on, and at this moment, I think he might be the most beautiful boy I’ve ever seen.
“Come on,” he urges. I take his hand.

He doesn’t act like a desperate street kid. He has so many more sides to him that I wonder if he has always lived in these poor sectors. He glances at me now, notices me studying him, and pauses for a second. Some secret emotion darts across his eyes. A beautiful mystery. -June

I’d say that my most favorite part in the story is when Day first laid his eyes on June at the Skiz. It was remarkable. I loved how Day described June when he saw her, the same way I loved how June thought about Day when he first offered her his hand. I knew that the romance will blossom eventually, and I’ve been so ecstatic to see how everything will play out for two people who are enemies and bound by duty and responsibility–one for the Republic, the other one for his family.I am a huge fan of dystopian novels blended with good romance and brilliantly developed characters, and Legend has both. The story is compelling, gripping and totally intense. It’s a kind of book that you don’t want to put down once you started reading it. The story is fast-paced and the world building is very well crafted. I cannot ask for more in this book. It has the right amount of action, suspense, romance, and drama that makes it a very satisfying read. Aside from that, I loved how the story were told from two different POVs. If you have the paperback or the hardback copy of the book, you’ll see that Day’s POV was written using a different color of ink, and with different font. This made the book more fun and easier to read. I got even more excited every time the POV changed.

Legend had everything I want in a dystopian book. The story is impressive and I really enjoyed it. It reminds me why I like dystopian novels so much. It’s a fast read, intense, highly engaging, emotionally gripping, and a total page-turner! If you are a huge fan of dystopian novels like me, you’ll surely don’t want to miss it. I highly recommend Legend. It’s a powerful story. It deserves a place on my bookshelf, and I’m sure it’ll be a great addition to your bookshelf too. It’s a must read!

 

My Rating:

P.S. Did I mention that I grabbed the audiobook version after I finished this book? It is that good.
P.S.S. Check Ms. Marie Lu’s website and you’ll find some pretty interesting stuff out there. Go check out her blog and media 🙂 I find some sketches and art made by the author herself. There are games, teasers/trailers that you might find very enjoying. Don’t forget to check out het awesome site.

Marie Lu’s Official Website | Blog | Media

One thought on “Book Review: LEGEND by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

