Book Review: POINT OF RETREAT by Colleen Hoover

Point of Retreat (Slammed #2)
Author: Colleen Hoover
Published: February 25th 2012
Edition: Kindle Format
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Summary | Add to TBR

Hardships and heartache brought them together…now it will tear them apart.

Layken and Will have proved their love can get them through anything; until someone from Will’s past re-emerges, leaving Layken questioning the very foundation on which their relationship was built. Will is forced to face the ultimate challenge…how to prove his love for a girl who refuses to stop ‘carving pumpkins.’


When I look at the page in front of my eyes, 

I still can’t see anything, just white. The page is blank.

I hope I’ll find a way, to write what I needed to say.

Well, duh, I’ll write anyway…

Maybe you’ll understand and get what I really intend to convey.

If you haven’t read Slammed, I urge you to do so.

Please read my review, and comment if you want to.

Now, I will write about Point of Retreat

It’s better than Slammed, 

I”m sure, you won’t be tricked.

It’s touching,
much emotional than Slammed.
It’s an amazing book,
I want a third one! 

* * * * *

My Thoughts:

Love is the most beautiful thing in the world. Unfortunately, it’s also one of the hardest in the world to hold on to, one of the easiest things to throw away.
Slammed is one of the best contemporaries that I read this year and Point of Retreat is much better! I didn’t expect to love Point of Retreat more than Slammed, but reading what’s on Will’s mind was so much better than reading Lake’s. 
And that’s when it happens…my whole world comes crashing down on me…
Lake looks into my eyes and I see it…I see her heart breaking.
Point of Retreat is more emotional and heartbreaking than the first book. Lake’s mom died almost a year ago, and no one better understands Lake more than Will, now that they both lost their parents and left with their brothers to take care of. Their lives should have been less difficult now that their together, but things doesn’t go that way. Sometimes what binds two people is the same thing that might tear them apart. And there goes this saying:

In this book, I got to see Will and understand him and love him even more. The storyline is really good, and you won’t be able to put this down. It was very engaging, very entertaining. I felt several emotions while reading this book and I’m telling you that it’s all worth it. I love how the story was told and I loved how the characters matured and developed. I love the amazing characters and I can only imagine how fun and exciting to have those kind of people around. The author did a great job creating wonderful characters that are so real and very inspiring.

I don’t know what else to say, except that I totally loved it and I highly recommend it! It’s emotionally gripping, achingly beautiful and surprisingly sweet story. This book is made up of well-blended emotions that will surely give you a delightfully roller-coaster ride kind of feeling. It’s a remarkable book and it’s butterflying amazing.

If you enjoy contemporary books that is so entertaining, emotional but with funny moments too, sad but hopeful at the same time, adorable, amazing characters, and with just the right amount of swoon, Point of Retreat will be a great pick! Read Slammed first then grab this book immediately afterwards.  I totally loved this series. You won’t be disappointed.


My Rating:

Leave a Reply

