Book Review: THE FOREVER GIRL by Rebecca Hamilton

The Forever Girl: Sophia’s Journey (Forever Girl #1)
Author: Rebecca Hamilton
Published: January 26th 2012
Format: Kindle Edition

Summary | Add to TBR

Sophia’s family has skeletons, but they aren’t in their graves.
At twenty-two, practicing Wiccan Sophia Parsons is scratching out a living waiting tables in her Rocky Mountain hometown, a pariah after a string of unsolved murders with only one thing in common: her.
Sophia can imagine lots of ways to improve her life, but she’d settle for just getting rid of the buzzing noise in her head. When the spell she casts goes wrong, the static turns into voices. Her personal demons get company, and the newcomers are dangerous.
One of them is a man named Charles, who Sophia falls for despite her better judgment. He has connections that might help her unveil the mystery surrounding her ancestor’s hanging, but she gets more than she bargains for when she finally decides to trust him. 
Survival in his world, she learns, means not asking questions and staying out of the immortal council’s way. It’s a line she crossed long ago. If Sophia wants to survive the council and save the people she loves, she must accept who she is, perform dark magic, and fight to the death for her freedom.
The Forever Girl is a full-length Paranormal Fantasy novel that will appeal to lovers of paranormal romance, urban fantasy, witches, vampires, ghosts, paranormal mystery, and paranormal horror.
My Thoughts:
“Faith, Sophia. Life isn’t always going to give you the answers to the questions you’re asking. Sometimes you have to make do with the answers you get.”
Witches, vampires… you’ll find them here in Rebecca Hamilton’s novel “The Forever Girl: Sophia’s Journey”. When I started this book, I didn’t know exactly what to expect. I didn’t read any reviews prior to my reading and I was incredibly surprised by what it has to offer. Rebecca Hamilton is a talented writer. She knows how to draw her readers to her book, and she knows how to craft a story with depth.

If I was scared of anything, it was for him, not of him–scared of the pain he had to endure with every shift. And if I cared about that, I had to admit I cared about him. Somehow, some way, he was working his way into my heart.

The book tells a story about a girl who is being treated differently just because she practice Wiccan. Trying to live a normal life isn’t even an option when she’s hearing voices and seeing things she couldn’t understand. Not until she cast a spell that seemed to have gone wrong and met a mysterious, gorgeous man she can’t help falling in love with. Complications, risks and consequences… Sophia has no choice but to deal with them now, for real.
Amidst all the things that happened to Sophia, she remained strong. I think that’s why I’ve grown to like her. She’s witty, independent, and strong-willed. I easily connected with her and it felt like I’ve known her. Sophia has the qualities of a good protagonist and that made me appreciate this book even more. And I know, too, that everyone loves a gorgeous, hot male leading character. What can I say? Charles is definitely one type of a guy. He’s funny and snarky and interesting to read about. It’s been a while also since I’ve heard a vampire who can actually transform into animals. It used to fascinate me when I was little but as I grow up and read different versions of vampires and other-wordly creatures, this one ability of vampires were slowly forgotten or let’s just say that vampires in books were created differently by different authors–they evolved. I don’t know, maybe it’s just me, but I find it fascinating to read something like that again. 

“You’re not so interesting that I came to watch you sleep, darlin’.”

Seriously, this book surprised me in many ways. The plot, the setting, the characters, the writing itself.  It was eerie and dark, touching and romantic at the same time. The mysteries surrounding Sophia will keep you engrossed in the book. The twist and the revelation are something to look forward to. The time it was revealed, the way the story suddenly took a spin… It was beautiful. It was really good.

It’s a fast-paced book with an interesting plot and intriguing set of characters, beautifully written and surprisingly good. It will definitely appeal to those who love mysteries and paranormal story that has a bit of scare factor. Don’t miss Sophia’s Journey… it’s worth the read.

“I’m not going to turn away from the only person I’ve ever trusted to accept me. Not for anything. You belong to me. If for a moment, then for eternity.”

My Rating:


One thought on “Book Review: THE FOREVER GIRL by Rebecca Hamilton

  1. Love your review! Thanks for the quotes, they reminded me how much I loved the book. I have Rebecca's second book on my Kindle but sadly haven't had the time to pick it up yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

