Book Review: EVERY DAY by David Levithan

Every Day
Author: David Levithan
Published: August 28th 2012
Publisher: Knopf Books
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy/Paranormal Romance

Summary | Add to TBR

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl. 

Every morning, A wakes in a different person’s body, a different person’s life. There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.
It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.
With his new novel, David Levithan has pushed himself to new creative heights. He has written a captivating story that will fascinate readers as they begin to comprehend the complexities of life and love in A’s world, as A and Rhiannon seek to discover if you can truly love someone who is destined to change every day.
My Thoughts:

Every relationship has a hard part in the beginning… It’s not like a puzzle piece where there’s an instant fit. With relationships, you have to shape the pieces on each end before they go perfectly together.

Every Day is an interesting book. The story is about A, who wakes up everyday in a different body of a sixteen year old, regardless of the gender. Sometimes he’s a boy, sometimes she’s a girl. A deals with the person’s memories, family, and life for one day. And just when midnight strikes, A leaves the body and wakes up to a different one. 
Honestly, I find this book very intriguing. I haven’t read anything like this before and it was truly a unique story that David Levithan created. No doubt that he’s a talented writer. At first I didn’t know where the story was heading and there are parts of the book that I find a little slow. Nevertheless, I can’t deny the fact that the whole story is something that will stay in your mind for a very long time. It was remarkable. All the while I thought it was a 3 star book for me, but something in the last part made this book surprising and I’ve decided to give it a 4 star rating. I know from the beginning that this is a kind of book where I shouldn’t expect a happy ending and I was right. The ending is sad and bittersweet,  and a little heartbreaking… I didn’t expect to end it like that but for me it’s really good. This may not appeal to everyone but I think it’s a book worth reading. It’s not a story that is full of rainbows and sunshines, but it’s nice to read a book that makes you think and contemplate and feel something like sorrow and hope for the characters.

I wanted love to conquer all. But love can’t conquer anything. It can’t do anything on it’s own. It relies on us to do the conquering on its behalf.

A isn’t the typical fictional character we love and cheer for… I can’t say I love him because I can’t imagine what he really looks like and his personality isn’t very well clear to me. There was no description whatsoever (as far as I remember) but I like him as a protagonist. On the other hand, I find it a little hard to connect with Rhiannon. She’s the girl who captured A’s heart, but I can’t see what A sees in her. I see her as a girl who can’t figure out what she wants and what she needs. Maybe it’s just me, but I’m really not fond of characters who are not sure of themselves and her relationship with others. Though I felt that something is missing in the story, I really enjoyed it. David Levithan crafted a story that is unique, sad, heartbreaking, and remarkable. It will stay in your mind ( and in your heart) for a very long time just like what it did to mine.

When first love ends, most people eventually know there will be more to come. They are not through with love. Love is not through with them. It will never be the same as the first, but it will be better in different ways.
My Rating:
3 thoughts on “Book Review: EVERY DAY by David Levithan

  1. Hey there, I'm visiting because I saw that you're joining in with the Reaping Me Softly book tour, which I'm also participating in =) I've followed, and I look forward to reading your posts! =D
    This book is definitely on my to read list!
    Rinn

    Like

Leave a Reply

