Book Review: IMMORTAL BELOVED by Cate Tiernan

Immortal Beloved (Immortal Beloved #1)
Author: Cate Tiernan
Published: September 7th 2010
Publisher: Little, Brown Books
Genre: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy

Summary | Add to TBR

Nastasya has spent the last century living as a spoiled, drugged-out party girl. She feels nothing and cares for no one. But when she witnesses her best friend, a Dark Immortal, torture a human, she realizes something’s got to change. She seeks refuge at a rehab for wayward immortals, where she meets the gorgeous, undeniably sexy Reyn, who seems inexplicably linked to her past.
Nastasya finally begins to deal with life, and even feels safe–until the night she learns that someone wants her dead.
Cate Tiernan, author of the popular Sweep series, returns with an engaging story of a timeless struggle and inescapable romance, the first book in a stunning new fantasy trilogy.
My Thoughts:
…time itself was like a river, moving steadily forward, and you got to be in a new river every day, every hour. All my life I’d felt like–a lake. A lake where everything was contained, forever.
This book surprised me in many ways. I didn’t know exactly what the story is about until past half-way through the book. It was nothing I’ve expected before I started this book but I’m glad that after what seems to be months or so, I finally abled to read it. The first half of the book was a bit slow for me and I’ve been waiting for something exciting to happen. I didn’t get that until I reached the second half where it became hard for me to put down the book. Honestly, I don’t like Nastasya at all, since she’s so immature and selfish and spoiled-brat. She always rants about things around her and she seemed to see all the bad things and not the good things. It was irritating to hear her thoughts especially during the early part of the story. Thank goodness, her character developed (a little and slowly) as the story continue to unfold. There’s also too little romance in this book, but I can see that there will be more in the next installments. I didn’t get to see more of Reyn as much as I wanted but somehow their love-hate relationship is something that kept me rooted. I was so anxious to see the two let their emotions out and it was driving me crazy in a good, exciting way. I want to see them together but I think I still need to read the rest of the series to find out.
The very memories and experiences I’d tried to block out of my mind for the last four hundred years were sixteen feet away from me, in living color. It was like confronting the monster under my bed, only amped up a thousand times. There he was: the monster. My worst nightmare was wearing a dark green plaid flannel shirt and jeans and smelled like laundry detergent and fresh autumn air. 
The characters are good, though not all of them are very likable. Each of these characters has their own secrets and stories that are interesting enough. I love the teachers and the other wayward immortals that adds flavor to the story, except Nell who irritated me the whole time and who I want to send flying off across the Atlantic Ocean! 
Even though the plot was a little slow for me in the beginning, I appreciate how the second half was done. I liked how the story was written, including the flashbacks which made me shuddered most of the times. The story is really good and there is no doubt that it was written with depth. I enjoyed it and I recommend it to readers who love paranormal/fantasy stories.

My Rating:

Leave a Reply

