Book Review: SHATTERED SOULS by Mary Lindsey

Shattered Souls (Souls #1)
Author: Mary Lindsey
Published: December 8th 2011
Publisher: Philomel/Penguin
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal Romance
Summary | Add to TBR
 
A thrilling debut story of death, love, destiny and danger
Lenzi hears voices and has visions – gravestones, floods, a boy with steel gray eyes. Her boyfriend, Zak, can’t help, and everything keeps getting louder and more intense. Then Lenzi meets Alden, the boy from her dreams, who reveals that she’s a reincarnated Speaker – someone who can talk to and help lost souls – and that he has been her Protector for centuries.
Now Lenzi must choose between her life with Zak and the life she is destined to lead with Alden. But time is running out: a malevolent spirit is out to destroy Lenzi, and he will kill her if she doesn’t make a decision soon.
My Thoughts:
Lenzi can hear and feel the ghosts. She’s trying to avoid them to the point of taking medicines to stop the hissing. Her boyfriend has been supportive to her eversince but even him couldn’t understand and help her. It seems that only Alden, the mysterious boy he first saw at the cemetery is the only one that can truly help her. This created complications and ended up in a not so pretty situation with her boyfriend.
This book had been on my shelf for quite a while now and I’m glad that I finally knocked it off my shelf. It wasn’t a super enjoyable read for me but over all it’s still good. I just had too much expectations from the book so I was a bit disappointed when I ended up not loving it much. But as I said, this book is enjoyable and still good. The only thing that was off for me is the heroine–Lenzi Rose. From the beginning Lenzi didn’t feel like a strong character for me. It was a little disappointing that I can’t get myself to like her as much as I want to. For a reader like me, it is a great deal to be able to find myself connecting with the main characters and in this book sadly, it wasn’t the case. When I finally meet Alden, it wasn’t the super thrilling, extra-exciting kind of moment either. He is hot. Gorgeous. I get that. But the moment when they first meet didn’t do it for me. It was ok, but not the memorable kind of thing for me. While I read the book I was hoping that Lenzi will come out of her shell and be the tough heroine I’m waiting to see. Alden is hot enough so I just need the female protagonist to compliment Alden’s strong points. It didn’t happen in this book and that disappoint me a little. I guess that’s my only problem about this book. Nevertheless, the plot is intriguing, the pacing is ok, the setting is good. I still enjoyed it and I still liked it. Not a favorite book of mine but good enough.
My Rating:
One thought on “Book Review: SHATTERED SOULS by Mary Lindsey

  1. You know, I'm dying to have this book, but most of reviews I've reads, said the same as you.
    I think I'll get it, just because I love that cover. I need to have it!
    Thanks for the review, it'll help me to not expect too much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

