Book Review: EMBERS & ECHOES by Karsten Knight

Embers & Echoes (Wildefire #2)

Author: Karsten Knight
Published: August 28th 2012
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy


Summary | Add to TBR
Fan the flames: A teen goddess fires up her search for love and family in this sequel to Wildefire.
Ashline Wilde may have needed school to learn that she is actually a reincarnated goddess, but she’s ready to move beyond books. She leaves her California boarding school behind and makes for Miami, where she meets a new group of deities and desperately seeks her sister Rose, the goddess of war. But she’s also looking for love—because even though her romance with Cole had to be snuffed, Ash is a volcano goddess—and she doesn’t get burned.
My Thoughts:
You can’t run someplace new and not fill up the new space with the old stuff. The things you want to leave behind are the very things you can’t. – Ash 
I’m indestructible, Ash. That doesn’t mean I’m incapable of feeling. I still experience love, and I can still experience pain. – Colt 
When we reached the ending of Wildefire, the first book in the series, we learned that Colt isn’t someone we thought he was. He isn’t human. He isn’t the same Colt. With this horrible realization, Ash ran away from him and decided to find her sisters–Rose, the youngest of the Wilde sisters who is known to be very dangerous and whom she never met, and Eve whom she learned isn’t dead but in Nether, held captured by the Cloak. In the process of finding her sisters, she met Wes, the hot and gorgeous Aztec God of Night, and Aurora, the Roman Goddess of Dawn. 
Embers & Echoes started exactly where the first book ended, and with that huge cliffhanger ending in Wildefire, expect another thrill ride, lots of suspense, actions, mysteries and of course romance. 
This was the second time recently she’d saved a boy from being chained and tortured. 
“Let’s hope I don’t regret saving this one,” she whispered to no one at all. 
The looks that you and Wes have been exchanging the last forty-eight hours are so hot that I’m surprised you don’t need sunglasses to keep from getting pregnant. – Aurora 
What I loved about Karsten Knight’s books is the humor and wit. This book doesn’t lack of those. It balances the story especially when the book is full of suspense and heart-throbbing actions. There are old enemies, old foes, new friends–all these characters are amazing and very well-developed. You just can’t help but love and care for them. So when a character died, well… of course it wasn’t pretty, and it was absolutely not fun at all. I have to say that this book is even more heartbreaking for me than Wildefire ‘cos once again I lost my favorite characters. The author isn’t afraid to kill his characters–characters that I loved ever since Wildefire and I think it was a brave move. I just hope Karsten will continue to create beautiful Gods and Goddesses in the next books–characters that I will love as much as I love the others (may they rest in peace *wink). And please… oh dear Author, please, can you at least spare me some pain and heartache by not killing any more of my favorite characters?
Not as much as I loved Wildefire, but this one is really good. More suspenseful than the first. The mysteries and twists are even more intriguing. I am not fully satisfied with the ending because for me it’s tragic. But overall, this book is amazing. The secrets and the revelations aren’t what I expected either. There are more secrets from the past that are yet to unfold and I’m excited to see them revealed on the next book. Yes, sometimes I got frustrated because I didn’t know who to trust anymore–the characters are unpredictable! So expect betrayal, revenge, and murders. I enjoyed it and I am eagerly anticipating the third. Full of actions, mysteries, suspense, wit and even drama, this book will put you at the edge of your seat. 
You make a decision whether you want to spend your life staring at the dark horizons…Or whether you want to spend it catching every sunrise that you can. – Wes
My Rating:
One thought on “Book Review: EMBERS & ECHOES by Karsten Knight

  1. Wow. What a cool cover! Great review, April. This line of yours cracked me up, by the way:

    “And please… oh dear Author, please, can you at least spare me some pain and heartache by not killing any more of my favorite characters?”

    Lol! I'm not sure if I should read the series now… I don't need any more heartache right now (too many loved characters ended up dead)!

    Miss you! Thanks for sharing the review and bringing this one to my attention, though. Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

