Review: ALL OUR YESTERDAYS by Cristin Terril

All Our Yesterdays
Author: Cristin Terril
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Published: September 3, 2013

Summary | Add to TBR

“You have to kill him.” Imprisoned in the heart of a secret military base, Em has nothing except the voice of the boy in the cell next door and the list of instructions she finds taped inside the drain.
Only Em can complete the final instruction. She’s tried everything to prevent the creation of a time machine that will tear the world apart. She holds the proof: a list she has never seen before, written in her own hand. Each failed attempt in the past has led her to the same terrible present—imprisoned and tortured by a sadistic man called the doctor while war rages outside. 
Marina has loved her best friend James since the day he moved next door when they were children. A gorgeous, introverted science prodigy from one of America’s most famous families, James finally seems to be seeing Marina in a new way, too. But on one disastrous night, James’s life crumbles apart, and with it, Marina’s hopes for their future. Now someone is trying to kill him. Marina will protect James, no matter what. Even if it means opening her eyes to a truth so terrible that she may not survive it. At least not as the girl she once was. 
All Our Yesterdays is a wrenching, brilliantly plotted story of fierce love, unthinkable sacrifice, and the infinite implications of our every choice.
My Thoughts:

“I start to shake. In this time and place, a letter I don’t remember writing means something very specific. But it’s the last line that made me scramble for the toilet in the corner of my cell.



You have to kill him.”



There are plenty of time travel books out there and you probably think it’s the same old thing. But I tell you, this book lived up to my expectation. The concept and the theories revolving around this subject are not easy to grasp, but it always fascinates me. Could we really have a different present if we made things differently in the past? Or can we really go back in the past and change the things we’ve done to have a different future? 
I want  the readers to enjoy this book as much as I did and it won’t be possible if there are spoilers. One wrong word and it will break the story. One wrong word and I might ruin the book for you. So I will try my best to give my honest to heart review without giving anything away.
All Our Yesterdays is a story of friendship, love and sacrifice– how friendship play its vital role just when you needed it, and how true love can get you what you want and lose what you already have.
The story started four years from now, with Em locked inside her own cell. We didn’t know how she got there, only why she was kept inside– somebody wants something from her and she’s not willing to give it up. She won’t give them up. With every torture and pain she had suffered, she takes comfort in the voice of the boy behind her prison’s wall. The boy she knew but the face she couldn’t remember. She knew that she holds his life in his hands and there is no way she would let him die. Both of them were trying to protect each other from the man they only refer to as the “doctor”. And they need to escape again and save the world from the hands of this man. 
It’s true that there are books to be tasted and books to be devoured. This book is the kind to be devoured. It was addicting. The first chapter got me hooked and I knew right away that I want this book. It was hard to put down especially when almost every chapter has revelations to tell. Figuring some of them doesn’t make them less surprising either. It actually made me want to read more and it felt like I was the one chasing time. I was caught up in a whirl of emotions–fear, sadness, disappointment, surprise, and anticipation. Another best thing is the plot. It was fast-paced and very well executed. It amazed me how it was written so flawlessly. And though I think that the story was lacking a bit on world-building, I easily overlooked it. A better description of the world where Em and Finn came from could have enriched the backstory more but then again, it wasn’t a big deal for me this time. Other than that, the rest was pretty neat and the story was really good. I appreciate the storytelling–the alternating POV of Marina and Em. The personalities of both girls are total opposites and I’d say I loved Em more. Marina was a bit selfish and immature. She was annoying most of the time but it was obvious (for the good reason) that the story needed it for the other characters to be more effective and real. Finn and James are well developed as well, and I liked Finn specifically. Finn, James, Marina and Em– it was great to see these characters grow and become those persons they couldn’t have possibly imagined. 
Gripping and emotional, with meticulously executed, fast-pacing plot, great twists and underlying secrets, with interesting characters that will hold your heart, this book makes an awesome read. I shouldn’t have been surprised because I expected it to be good, and yet I still was. If you find time traveling a fascinating story, you’ll surely enjoy this one. I hope there’s a sequel, because stories like this doesn’t need to end just yet. It’s one of the best I’ve ever read in a while and if there’s one time travel book I will recommend, it’s this one. All Our Yesterdays lived up to my expectation, I hope it will also live up to yours.


My Rating:
You can read the first chapter of All Our Yesterdays and 
watch the web series at Cristin Terril Homepage.


2 thoughts on “Review: ALL OUR YESTERDAYS by Cristin Terril

  1. Oh my God! April!! I don't know why I didn't read this book before! I'm currently halfway through it and I'm so in love.
    It's perfect!! I agree in every word you say. I can't wait to finish it, but I don't want it to end just yet either.
    I love your review! Thanks so much for the recommendation (even though you don't know I really added it when you said it on Starbooks)
    Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

