Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sara J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sara J. Maas

Published: May 5th 2016

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

It was sort of a Beauty and the Beast kind of story, but not entirely a copy of the popular and beloved fairy tale. This book was enchanting and beautiful on its own!

The story is about Feyre and her journey to the land of the Fae–a magical and enchanting world, beautiful but more dangerous than you can imagine. It was said to be forbidden to kill a fae and Feyre knew it too well. However, that didn’t stopped her in killing the wolf-like creature she found in the forest. I imagined Feyre shooting the wolf with her arrow, and skinning it (or more likely “him”). Too much detail there! Anyway, so that was what really happened. She sold what she could sell, and keep what she and her family could eat. Because if you’re the only one who can support your disabled father and your too sheltered beautiful sisters (they irritated me immensely!), then you probably didn’t have a choice but to hunt whatever and whoever is out there available in the forest. So Feyre probably just crossed her fingers and wished that the creature wasn’t a wolf at all but, if it was a fae, then she’ll just face the consequences. She might as well take the risk rather than die of starvation, right?  She couldn’t be that unlucky! But yet she was. ‘Cos the wolf that she killed was Andras. Soon enough, another beast-like creature, as big as a bear, was on their footstep and ready to collect the debt.

I’ve never been a fan of faerie books but since it was written by Sara J. Maas, I decided to give it a try. I loved her Throne of Glass so my expectation for this book was quite high. Once again, she threw me into a world of enchanting beauty–the world of the fae, a place we could only imagine and she made me feel like it was real. I loved A Court of Thorns and Roses for many different reasons, but mostly because of how it made me feel. It kept me awake way past my bedtime cos it wouldn’t let me put down the book.

I threw myself into that fire, threw myself into it, into him, and let myself burn.

I also liked the characters that the author created. There is nothing I like better than a girl who is brave and who knows what she wants, a girl who won’t back down during a fight, and a girl who is willing to die fighting for what she cares about. She’s stubborn and she needed to learn to “feel and love” in the hardest way possible. I liked Tamlin and he was adorable in some scenes, but there was something missing in the chemistry between him and Feyre. I loved them when they’re together, but it wasn’t as spectacular as I expected. Feyre and Tamlin are both good characters. Separately, they seemed to shine on their own… but together they don’t fit perfectly. Feyre is a badass character and she’s a fighter. Someone as complex and as strong as her needs more than just protection from a guy like Tamlin. She  has this hunger to hunt, to fight, to protect and she needs someone who is willing to fight alongside her instead of someone who will put her inside some protective walls… and though it pains me to even think of these two being apart, I couldn’t shake the feeling that there is more about Feyre and Rhysand–the powerful High Lord of the Night Court.

Rhysand stared at me for long enough that I faced him.
“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

The pacing of the story was good even in the first few chapters where it felt like nothing much happened. The last part of the book though was awesome!  Those last chapters were my favorites because they kept me on the edge of my seat. I always loved an exciting twist!

For though each of my strikes

lands a powerful blow,

when I kill, I do it slow…

If you love fantasy books especially the epic ones, this book is for you. A Court of Thorns and Roses is a page-turner, a gripping, spellbinding story that shouldn’t be missed.

5 STARS

Add to Goodreads

Buy this book from Amazon

 

 

Leave a Reply

